8.4 C
New York
Saturday, March 2, 2024

Why Benue Assembly Suspends Four Members, Confirms LGC Caretaker Committees



- Advertisement -

From: Denen Achussah

Four members of 10th Benue Assembly were on Monday, 4th December, 2023, suspended for “constituting a clog” in the business of the House.

The motion for their suspension was moved by the Majority Leader, Saater Tiseer, Mbagwa State Constituency (APC). It was seconded by Peter Ipusu, Katsina-Ala West (APC).

A press statement issued by Akume Raphael, Chief Press Secretary to the Speaker names those suspended as Gyila Solomon Terlumun, Gwer West/PDP, Douglas Akya, Makurdi South/APC, Cephas Dyako, Konshisha/Labour Party and Anthony Agom, Okpokwu/PDP.

It says they are “suspended for three months for constituting a clog in the way of the smooth running of the legislative business of the House.”

READ ALSO  Alia's aide lambasts Benue NASS Caucus for politicizing insecurity

According to the state, House also confirms Governor Hyacinth Alia’s nominees for appointment on Local Government Council (LGC) Caretaker Committees in 21 LGCs. No reason was given for the other two: Agatu and Oju LGCs. Benue State is made up of 23 LGAs.

The session was presided by Speaker, Aondona Dajoh, Gboko West (APC).

Hey there! Exciting news - we've deactivated our website's comment provider to focus on more interactive channels! Join the conversation on our stories through Facebook, Twitter, and other social media pages, and let's chat, share, and connect in the best way possible!

Join or social media

For even more exclusive content!

Of The Week


- Advertisement -

Of The Week

247Ureports Protects its' news articles from plagiarism as an important part of maintaining the integrity of our website.