David Lyon, Bayelsa Gov elect named ‘Man of the Year’


…as eight other govs, distinguished Nigerians bag awards 

By Abu Duniya
Following his historic victory in last November Bayelsa State Guber polls, governor-elect, David Lyon, has been recognised as “Man of the Year” by foremost media group, TheNigerian News. 
Mr Lyon will be awarded at the third anniversary and book launch by publisher, Philip Agbese, in honour of President Muhammadu Buhari. 

Against all odds, Mr Lyon of the All Progressive Congress (APC) was overwhelmingly elected to govern the oil-rich state, breaking the power of incumbency and ending the Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP) two-decade-long hegemony in last month’s polls. 

On the choice of the 48-year-old Southern Ijaw native for its most-coveted recognition, the organisation  said “ like morning dew, he rose from political oblivion as an underdog to defeat two serving senators in a fair and transparent election to emerge as Governor-elect of Bayelsa State.”

The statement added that “his soft-spoken mien and humility saw him defeat vote-buying, thuggery and manipulations to win the heart of Bayelsans thus proving that power belongs to the people.” 

The event is billed to hold on Monday 30th December at the NAF Conference Centre Abuja.  

Here’s a rundown of other award recipients:

HE, Obong Udom Emmanuel, award for Infrastructure Star of the Year
Hajiya Hadiza Bala Usman, award for Role Model of the Year
Lt Gen TY Buratai, award for Most Outstanding Legend of the Year
Prof Mojisola Adeyeye, award for Public Order Personality of the Year
Mallam Nasir Ahmad El-Rufai, award for Politician of the Year 
Col. Muhammadu M Abdallah (rtd), award for Change Agent of the Year
HE, Rt. Hon. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, award for Education and Worker Welfare Star of the Year
HE, Mr Godwin Obaseki, award for Fiscal Policy and Transparency Star 
Mrs Ibukun Awosika, award for Woman of the Year
Prof. Umar Garba Danbatta, award for Most Valuable CEO of the Year
Alhaji Abubakar Tsav, award for Activist of the Year
HE, Rt Ahmad Fintiri, award for Grassroots Democracy Development Governor of the Year
HE, Engr David Umahi, award for Nationalist of the Year 
HE, Engr Oluseyi Abiodun Makinde, award for Human Capital Development Star
HE, Dr Bello Muhammed Matawalle, award for Pillar of Security Vanguards
HE, Hon David Lyon, award for Man of the Year
OFAB Foundation, award for Most-Outstanding Pan-African Group in the Diaspora
Engr. Nuruddeen Rafinddadi, award for Social Service Icon of the Year
The book titled, “Integrity Vs Power Play: Understanding the Buhari Phenomenon”, meanwhile, aptly captures the first-term administration of President Buhari and many of his giant exploits as a five-star democrat. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here