Ortom Inaugurates 45-Man State Transition Committee

Advertisement GET CASH  _970px X 250px

From Msughshima Andrew, Makurdi

Benue state Governor Samuel Ortom has inaugurated the State’s Transition Committee with 45 Benue sons and daughters as Members.

Addressing the members, Governor Ortom congratulated all those that have been found worthy to work on the Committee and urged them to plan for the smooth transition of his government from the first into its Second Tenure of four years, come May 29.

“This Committee is expected to provide further impetus for our Administration to re-organize and re-energize the machinery of government in order to consolidate on the gains it has achieved in its 1st tenure.

He expressed happines that members of the Committee is comprised of people who have excelled in various careers and professions and whose capabilities and wealth of experience is not in doubt.

He however urged them work collectively as a team enable them come up with a comprehensive document that will guide the government towards providing improved services to the citizenry in the State.

“It is our firm belief that the Committee’s Report will critically review our development plan, Our Collective Vision for a New Benue and make insightful recommendations on how to realize the developmental potentials of the State in critical areas such as improved Revenue generation and application, constructive engagement of youth to make them productive and useful to themselves and society, among others.

“In addition, attention would also focus on a review of existing structure of Government which would be fundamental in enhancing our goals and targets in the next dispensation.

“On our part, we are determined to meticulously follow the document that would be produced by the Committee in guiding us in our developmental strides.

The committee has four weeks that has to operate whole the members include Dr. Iyorchia Ayu – Chairman, Prof. Iyorwuese Hagher – Member, Prof. Ode Ojowu, Prof. David Ker, Prof. Innocent Ujah, Prof. Timothy Gyuse, Dr. Paul Orhii,
Pharm. Peter Chieshe, Lt. Col. Paul Hemba (rtd).

Others are Dr. (Mrs) Magdalyne Dura, Rev. Dr. Philip Tachin, Mrs. Comfort Agogo, Mr. Terna Ahua, Sir. John Ngbede
Hon. Jerome Tor-Shimbe, Prof Nicholas Ada and Prof. Anthony A. Ijohor SAN, FCArb – Member/Secretary among others.

Our correspondent reports that the Terms of Reference of the Committee includes to study the present structure of Government; its adequacy or otherwise and recommend the way forward), evaluate the number, composition and membership of the Statutory Commissions in the State.
Review the Benue State Development Plan: “Our Collective Vision for a New Benue”.

They are to also suggest alternative ways of funding development projects and payment of Arrears of Salaries, Pensions and Gratuity of Public Servants in the State, suggest ways of enhancing revenue generation in the State.

They are also to review existing youth development programmes and suggest ways of assisting development of youths of the State, suggest ways of productively engaging the youth and women in the State, suggest ways in which farmers in the State could add value to their farm produce.

They will also suggest ways of giving the Benue people new orientation and social values and offer suggestions that will further strengthen, enhance and position the present Administration in the State to effectively fulfill its mandate to the people as it commences its 2nd Term in Office.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here