8.4 C
New York
Tuesday, March 5, 2024

Australia and South Africa to share world’s biggest telescope



- Advertisement -

Australia and South Africa are to share the world’s biggest telescope – the  Square Kilometre Array.

After an intense six-year battle between the two bidding nations, a  split-site solution for the giant radio telescope has been reached, with  antennas to be built in both countries.

The decision was made on Friday night at a meeting in Amsterdam of the board  of directors of the international  SKA Organisation overseeing the  telescope’s construction.

Advertisement: Story  continues below

It had been feared Australia would miss out, after an independent scientific  panel in February narrowly recommended South Africa as the preferred site.

To be one of the great scientific projects of the 21st century, the  array  will be so sensitive it could detect an aircraft radar on a planet  50 light years away.

It will be able to look back to the dark ages just after the Big Bang, and  could help answer some of the big question of the cosmos, such as whether we are  alone, and the nature of mysterious dark energy and dark matter.

Due to be fully operational by 2024, the internationally funded project will  provide a significant  economic boost to both countries, particularly in  the construction, engineering and IT sectors.

In a majority determination it was decided that most of the dishes that will  comprise the array in the first phase will be built in South Africa and combined  with a 64-dish telescope planned  there called MeerKAT.

More SKA dishes will be added to a 36-dish telescope almost completed in  Australia called the Australian SKA Pathfinder.

A second set of mid-frequency antennae will be built in South Africa and a  third set of low frequency antenna will be built in Australia.

The core Australian site is in the remote shire of Murchison, in Western  Australia, a radio-quiet zone about 300 kilometres north-east of Geraldton which  has only about 100 people in an area larger than Holland.

In South Africa, it is in the Karoo desert in the Northern Cape.

The decision to share the telescope, which will have three types of antennas  including 3000 dishes, was made by five of the organisation’s eight member  nations – Italy, the Netherlands, Britain, Canada and China.

The concept of building a mega-telescope with a square kilometre of  collecting area was proposed 20 years ago. Australia and South Africa were  shortlisted as potential hosts in 2006.

In March, the Herald broke the story that the independent scientific panel  had recommended South Africa.

However a final decision was delayed while a new scientific working group  investigated the possibility of an ‘‘inclusive approach’’ that would ‘‘maximise  the value from the investments made by both countries’’.

On Friday, before the decision to share the telescope was made, the Minister  of Science, Chris Evans, said the Australian government had ‘‘continued to argue  Australia’s case right up to the 11th hour’’.

Hey there! Exciting news - we've deactivated our website's comment provider to focus on more interactive channels! Join the conversation on our stories through Facebook, Twitter, and other social media pages, and let's chat, share, and connect in the best way possible!

Join or social media

For even more exclusive content!

Of The Week


- Advertisement -

Of The Week

247Ureports Protects its' news articles from plagiarism as an important part of maintaining the integrity of our website.