Delta Community Agbarho, Raises Alarm over Marginalization



…..Says it is their turn to produce Ughelli North LGA Chairman

As the anxiety for the local government election in Delta State gain momentum, leaders of Agbarho community in Ughelli North local government of Delta State have raised the alarm over what they described as political marginalization by other communities within the local government, just as they called on all Agbarho indigenes to forge a united front to fight the course of the community to enable them produce the next local government chairman.

The leaders made of top Agbarho  politicians, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) top shots, businessmen, professionals  and notable sons and daughters of  the community  in   a  meeting hosted by the Chairman, Elders Council of PDP in Ughelli North Local Government Area, Brigadier General Dominic Oneya (Rtd)  an indigene of Agbarho,  said when it  to comes   to elective position in Ughelli North local government  area especially the position of the  chairman  and the house of assembly  Ughelli  North constituency II Agbarho cimmunity has been denied several times. According to the statement, the two positions have been occupied by persons from Ughelli, Orogun, Agbarha and Uwheru axis of the local government.

Recalling how Agbarho community has been short changed in political appointments for over a decade, the Agbarho leaders  disclosed, “  Late Hon Arido Moubuoghare (Uwheru)  local government chairman from 1991-1993, Major A Ekwerare (Ughelli)  locak government chairman from  1994-1996,  Hon Esike Ese (Agbarha) local government  chairman  from 1996-1997,  Hon Grace Odiri ( Orogun) local government chairman  from 1997-1998, Hon George Osikorobia ( Ughelli) local government chairman  1999-2002, Hon C V Metieh (Ughelli) local government chairman  from 2002-2003, Hon Austen Oboba ( Ughelli) kocak government chairman from 2003 -2004, Late (Barr) Ediri Edisi  (Ughelli) local government chairman from  2004-2006,  Hon Friday Onodjae (Orogun) local government chairman from  2006-2007, Hon  Prince Ben Oru local government chairman from  2007-2008 and Hon Kenneth Ibru (Agbarha) local government 2008 -2011.

“The other axis have continue to produce member of the House of Assembly from  Ughelli North  constituency II till date. They are Hon Ovie Agas (Ughelli) member house of assembly 1999-2007, Hon Abel Oshevire (Ughelli) member house of assembly 2007-2011 and Hon Edoja Akpodiete (Ughelli) member of house of assembly 2011 till date”.

They pointed  out that  a careful analysis of the aforementioned  data revealed  that  non  of Agbarho indigenes  had  held any position either  as chairman of local government of local government or member of  house assembly since the dispensation of the nascent democracy, adding that it is only those from the Ughelli axis that has been rotating the two position among themselves at the expense of Agbarho.  Such political deprivation according the statement has led to lack of social, economic and infrastructural development in the community.

Consequently,  Agbarho community is appealing to other communities in  Ughelli North local government area  to  give them  the local government chairman slot in the coming local government election,  stressing  such action would create the spirit of oneness, equity in zoning   and would also spread development to Agbarho community.

From Oghenekevwe Laba,
a Lagos based journalist


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here