8.4 C
New York
Saturday, May 25, 2024

Qatar 2022: I made mistake in World Cup final – Referee, Marciniak confesses

Published:

LATEST NEWS

- Advertisement -

The referee who took charge of the 2022 World Cup final, Szymon Marciniak, has admitted he made a mistake during the game between Argentina and France.

Marciniak became the first official from Poland to oversee the biggest game in world football last Sunday.

He has received plenty of applause from pundits and fans for his performance.

Among Marciniak’s highlight were three rightfully awarded penalties and booking French striker Marcus Thuram for diving without consulting VAR.

However, the 41-year-old has confessed it was not a perfect outing for him.

“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport.PL.

“I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.

READ ALSO  Federation Cup: Wikki Tourists beat defending champion to qualify round 16 

“I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card.

“It’s hard. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.”jk

Hey there! Exciting news - we've deactivated our website's comment provider to focus on more interactive channels! Join the conversation on our stories through Facebook, Twitter, and other social media pages, and let's chat, share, and connect in the best way possible!

Join our social media

For even more exclusive content!

Of The Week
CARTOON

TOP STORIES

- Advertisement -

Of The Week
CARTOON