Agbakwuru emerges Imo NUJ correspodents’ chapel chairman

The Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Owerri Correspondents Chapel yesterday elected its new executive committee.
Mr. Athan Agbakwuru of Nigerian Pilot newspaper was elected unopposed as the chairman of the union, while Mr. Stanley Uzoaro of Leadership newspaper emerged as the vice chairman.
Other executive members of the union also returned unopposed and they include Mr. Basil Ukwuegbu of Pulse Magazine as secretary; Chidi Opara of the News Agency of Nigeria, NAN, as the treasurer while Theodore Tasie of Difference Magazine took the post of financial secretary.
The chapel’s election was conducted by an Electoral Committee headed by Charles Ogugbaja of Guardian newspaper and was supervised by officials of the Imo State Council of the union led by its Chairman, Chief Innocent Igwe
Speaking after the election, Agbakwuru dedicated his victory to God and expressed gratitude to members of the chapel for their support and therefore said the victory was for all.
He pledged to ensure his administration step up from where the previous administration stopped especially when it concerns the welfare of journalists in the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here