Justice Francis Tabai, Pat Utomi In Delta Committee To Manage 500million Flood Fund


A 12-member committee chaired by a retired Supreme Court Judge, Justice Francis Tabai, has been constituted by the Delta State Government to manage the 500million naira flood fund released to it by the Federal Government.

According to an approval giving by the Governor of the State, Dr Emmanuel Uduaghan, the committee would oversee the flood disaster and the post flooding rehabilitation of victims.

Specifically, the Committee will advise the government on the judicious utilization of the funds provided by the federal government for the rehabilitation of persons displaced by the flood in the state and undertake the management of the funds.

Besides, the Committee is expected to coordinate with other persons, organizations and donor agencies to raise additional funds to provide urgent relief for victims of the recent flood disaster across the state.

Other Terms of Reference of the Committee are:

(1) To put in place structures, support facilities and systems to bring succor to the flood victims in the state; and

(2) To plan and implement long term programmes for the rehabilitation of victims and manage the Post-Impact Resettlement of the affected persons and communities.

Other members of the Committee include the renowned economist and activist, Prof. Pat Utomi; the chairman of Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) South South, Archbishop God-Do-Well Awomakpa; an educationst, Mrs Florence Ehinlaye; Dr Thomas Okpaku; and Pharm. Paul Enebeli.

Also in the Committee are: Dr Asanuvwie S. Oberheri, representing Nigerian Bar Association; Dr. M. O. Osarenkhoe, representing Nigeria Medical Association; and Engr. Owen Mordi representing Nigerian Society of Engineers.

The rest are: Mr. Olisa Ifeajika, representing Nigeria Union of Journalists; Barrister Oghenejabor Ikimi of the Forum for Justice and Human Rights Defence, Warri; and Mr. O. Onyeisi Nkenchor of the office of the Secretary to the State Government serving as the secretary to the Committee.

The Committee will be inaugurated on Monday (Oct. 29, 2012) at the Government House, Asaba




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here