Adoke Inaugurates EFCC Board, Urges Respect for Rule of Law

Inuguration of New EFCC Board Members 14
The Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Mohammed Bello Adoke (SAN) today charged the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, to continue to discharge its functions within the ambits of the law. Adoke gave this charge while inaugurating the board of the Commission at his office. “I therefore enjoin you to ensure that respect for the rule of law and due process, should at all time be your guiding principle,” he said.
Adoke noted that the board members have been carefully chosen to ensure that the Commission is provided with the right policy direction needed to improve its performance. “I therefore congratulate the chairman and members of the Commission on your well deserved appointment. You will be expected to lead the Commission by example and bring your wealth of experience and expertise to bear on the work of the Commission. In this regard, your personal integrity, commitment and dedication are essential tools for success and the government will not demand less from you,” he said. Adoke also charged the Commission to be professional in discharging its mandate.
He explained that the inauguration of the board was to ensure that the Commission discharges its mandate effectively and in line with Nigeria’s obligations under the United Nations Convention against Corruption (UNCAC) and the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organised Crime (UNTOC).
The minister who bemoaned the prevalence of economic and financial crimes said the scourge was the bane of the nation’s development. “There is no doubt that Nigerians have long come to the realization that high prevalence of economic and financial crimes are antithetical to our development objectives as a nation. Government has therefore enacted appropriate legislation and approved policies and programmes designed to tackle the menace of economic and financial crimes in the country,” he stated.
Ibrahim Lamorde, chairman of EFCC, thanked the government for the opportunity to serve and assured that the board will not disappoint the nation. “We will try to discharge our responsibility to the best of our knowledge. To whom much is given, much is expected,” he said.
Members of the newly inaugurated board are Emmanuel Adegboyega Aremo, Secretary to the Commission; Emmanuel Ibitolu;  Uwasomba Udochukwu; Ismaila Mohammed Dukku and Michael Ebong.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here