8.4 C
New York
Wednesday, December 6, 2023

President Jonathan Reconstitutes Action Committee And Task Force On Power Sector Reforms



- Advertisement -

In a move to give renewed impetus to his administration’s drive to significantly improve power supply across the nation, President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan Wednesday recomposed the Presidential Action Committee on Power and the Presidential Task Force on Power, the two bodies charged with responsibility for overseeing the implementation of Federal Government’s agenda for power sector reforms.

President Jonathan retains the chairmanship of the recomposed Presidential Action Committee on Power (PACP) which was established in June 2010 to provide leadership and guidance for the rapid development of Nigeria’s power sector and determine the general policy direction and strategic focus  of reforms in the sector.

Vice President Mohammed Namadi Sambo is the deputy Chairman of the Committee while its other members include the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, the Head of Service, the Chief of Staff to the President, the Minister of Justice and Attorney-General of the Federation, the Coordinating Minister for the Economy and Minister of Finance, the Minister of Labour and Productivity, the Minister of Power, the Minister of State for Power and the Minister of Petroleum Resources.

Other members are the Minister of National Planning, the Chief Economic Adviser to the President, the Special Adviser to the President (Performance Monitoring & Evaluation), the Director-General – Bureau of Public Enterprises, the Director-General – Bureau of Public Procurement, the Group Managing Director of the NNPC, the Chairman of the Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission and  the Chairman of the Presidential Task Force on Power.

The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Power will serve as Secretary of the PACP.

Engineer Reynold Dagogo-Jack of the National Integrated Power Project (NIPP) is to assume the chairmanship of the Presidential Task Force on Power which has the duty of developing and driving the Federal Government’s action plan for the  power sector as well as articulating  a proper plan of action for implementation in the areas of power generation, transmission and distribution.

Other members of the recomposed task force are the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Power, the Chief Executive Officer – Transmission Company of Nigeria, the Managing Director, Niger Delta Power Holding Company, the Chief Executive Officer, Nigerian Gas Company, the Chief Executive Officer, Geregu Generation Company, the Chief Executive Officer, Ughelli Generation Company, the Chief Executive Officer, Eko Distribution Company, the Chief Executive Offcier, Abuja Distribution Company, the Chief Executive Officer, Nigeria Bulk Electricity Company, the Chief Executive Officer of the Gas Aggregation Company of Nigeria and  Mr. Evaristus Mogbo.

The Nigeria Infrastructure Advisory Fund will serve as Consultants to the Task Force while an officer of Directorate rank in the Federal Ministry of Power designated by the Permanent Secretary will serve as Secretary to the recomposed task force.

Hey there! Exciting news - we've deactivated our website's comment provider to focus on more interactive channels! Join the conversation on our stories through Facebook, Twitter, and other social media pages, and let's chat, share, and connect in the best way possible!

Join or social media

For even more exclusive content!

Of The Week


- Advertisement -

Of The Week

247Ureports Protects its' news articles from plagiarism as an important part of maintaining the integrity of our website.