Uba berates Ngige over calls for cancellation of APC primary in Anambra


By Favour Goodness

Sen. Andy Uba has berated the Minister of Labour and Employment, Sen. Chris Ngige for calling for the cancelation of the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary election in Anambra state.

In the primary election held on Saturday, Uba was declared the winner by the Ogun State governor, Dapo Abiodun-led election committee.

Uba was declared winner of the election on Sunday morning, with 11 other aspirants protesting his victory.

Director-General of the Andy Uba campaign organization, Chief Paul Chukwuma, who spoke on his behalf, praised the doggedness of APC members who remained patient all through the process.

He said, “The call for postponement of the primary to a later date by the Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr Chris Ngige (OON) is wrong.

“We fault the call and wonder why the Leader of the party in Anambra State will call for a postponement of an election that has ended successfully just because the outcome was not going in favour of his preferred candidate.”

Chukwuma accused Ngige for lending credence to the rumours going round that he is in cohort with the ruling APGA to support a weak aspirant to emerge as APC candidate in order to pave way for the APGA governorship candidate to have a smooth run.

He also berated those aspirants that alleged irregularities in the primary election for raising false alarms.

According to him, all the aspirants were given everything they needed by the Primary Election Committee but some were angry that they couldn’t hijack the whole process hence the resort to blackmail and cheap propaganda.

On the purported outburst of the Publicity Secretary of APC in Anambra state, Arc. Okelo Madukaife against the conduct of the primary, the campaign organization cautioned party officials against taking positions that are inimical to the party’s unity.

It noted that the likes of Okelo were angry because they could not hijack the work of the primary committee hence his disenchantment with the outcome of the election.

Below are the standing:

Number of accredited voters – 348,490

Total valid votes – 348,490

Total invalid votes – Nil

Method of voting – option A4


  1. Azuka Okwuosa – 17,159 votes
  2. Johnbosco Onunkwo – 28,746 votes
  3. Paul Orajiaka – 4,248 votes
  4. Ben Etiaba – 4,244 votes
  5. Conel Onyejegbu – 3,414 votes
  6. Maxwell Okoye – 2,540 votes
  7. Andy Uba MFR – 230,201 votes
  8. Chido Nwankwo – 21,281 votes
  9. George Moghalu – 18,596 votes
  10. Amobi Nwokafor – 3,335 votes
  11. Ikeobasi Mokelu – 3,727 votes
  12. Edozie Mmadụ – 3,626 votes
  13. Hygers Ifeanyi – 1,466 votes
  14. Godwin Okonkwo – 5,907 votes

Sen Andy Uba MFR is hereby declared the winner by His Excellency Dr. Dapo Abiodun



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here