Anambra CJ swears-in 20 magistrates, registrar


The Chief Judge of Anambra, Justice Peter Umeadi, has advised magistrates and court registrars in the state to live above board in the discharge of their duties.

Speaking at the swearing-in of 20 new magistrates and a deputy chief registrar in Awka on Monday, Umeadi noted that the task before them was enormous as a result of the just-ended four-month strike by the Judiciary Staff Union of Nigeria (JUSUN).

“You have come at a time when the state judiciary is being repositioned. We therefore ask for your best,” he said.

The chief judge disclosed that more magistrates would be appointed soon as a bill which sought the appointment of revenue magistrates had been passed by the state assembly.

Magistrates pix

He expressed the hope that the process of selection of the magistrates would make them to be among the best in the country.

“I charge you to emulate your seniors in your mode of dressing, behavior, application to work, guarding of your honour and integrity,” he said.

He said the state judiciary was also working to bring back court room police officers to the magistracy.

Umeadi commended Gov. Willie Obiano for constructing 14 court buildings which had yielded 28 magistrate court halls.

He, however, urged the governor to allocate land for the construction of buildings to house new judges in the state while also appealing to the governor to work toward full autonomy for the judiciary in the state.

The chief judge explained that the appointment of a new deputy chief registrar was necessitated by the elevation of the former one to a judge in the state high court.

Responding on behalf of the magistrates, Mrs Juliet Arinze commended the chief judge for the appointment and assured him that they would uphold the confidence reposed in them.

The 16 female and four male magistrates include Juliet Arinze, Moses Kanu, Obiamaka Ezebilo-Nnedu, Ijeoma Igbokwe, Chika Nwakamma, Catherine Chigbo, N.G.C. Maduakor, Nwadi Ani-Nnaka, Stella Ezeudeka and Moneke Onyekwuru.

Others are Chidimma Nduka, Ebere Onunkwo, Chizoba Stanley-Udo, Martins Adumah, Peter Eke, Eyiuche Okosi, Uzoma Udeze, Rebeka Agwunobi, Nonye Anyaegbunam, Clara Ogugua and Eugene Agbasionwe, the Deputy Chief Registrar.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here