Fear as 16 states get new police chiefs



Sixteen police commissioners were moved yesterday in a sudden action believed to be part of the Presidency’s strategy to ensure a firm grip on some states ahead of the 2015 elections.

President Goodluck Jonathan is yet to speak on his political future but there are speculations that he plans to run.

Some governors, who are believed to be against his “ambition” are to be whipped into line, sources have said.

The strategy, it was learnt, has begun with the “routine” movement of some top security officers in states considered to be opposed to the President’s unannounced intention.

The redeployment was announced by the Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Abubakar.

Seventeen other senior officers in various commands and formations were also redeployed.

The Commissioners of Police and their new postings are: Sabo Ringim (Kebbi); Musa Daura (Kano); Moses Saba-Ndagi (Ebonyi); Johnson Ogunsakin (Kwara); and T.E. Ibitibituwa (Enugu).

Also appointed are Hilary Opara (Kogi); Jubril Adeniji (Taraba); Mohammed Indabawa (Oyo); Mohammed Katsina (Imo); Usman Tili Abubakar (Abia); Olufemi Ogunbayode (FCT) and Dorathy Gimba (Osun).

Others are: Foluso Adebanjo (Edo); Mbu Joseph Mbu (Rivers); A.K. Shodipo (Cross River) and Patrick Dey Dokumor (Ondo).

Sources told our correspondents in Abuja yesterday that the double-pronged approach will not only ensure the weakening of the powers of the affected state chief executives, but will also provide an opportunity for the government to soften the ground in anticipation of any security challenges that may occur before 2015.

A similar exercise was effected in the military a few weeks ago. It raised questions about ethnicity, forcing the Chief of Army Staff, Lt.-Gen. Azubuike Ihejirika, to publicly deny the allegation.

But beyond the denial of ethnic or political considerations in the controversial postings of officers by the Chief of Army Staff, a source said other security agencies, including the State Security Services (SSS), are likely to have a “routine” shake-up.

The source said: “Of course, the general excuse is to label such questionable movements of top security officers as routine. But then, why should the postings be rampant in states that have been labelled as not aligned to the President’s yet-to-be-announced second term ambition?

“As we are speaking now, some police commissioners have been moved.”

The target states are many Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) states. They include those being run by the opposition parties. Among them are Delta, Cross River, Lagos, Oyo, Ogun, Kano, Jigawa and Kwara.

“These, I believe, are not normal movements. What is at play is politics and the aim is quite simple. The Presidency is trying to soften the ground in case of any eventual security challenges prior to and during the election in 2015.”

Other senior police officers were also redeployed to the various commands and formations. They include James Caulcrick who has been moved to Police Detective College in Enugu; Steven Audu moves to the Administrative ‘F’ Department at the Force Headquarters.

Wilfred Obute is the new Commandant, Police College, Kaduna. Felix Uyanna is Commandant, Police College, Oji. A. J. Abakasanga is in charge of Police information technology/Administration.

Ambrose Aisabor has been moved to Adminstration’A’ Department at the Force Headquarters. Chinweke Asadu is now in charge of the Police Legal Department.

Adebayo Ajileye is Commissioner of Police in charge of the Airport. Adams Audu now heads the Command Technical Unit. John Opadokun is the new helmsman at the Police Mobile Force.

Sherifat Dusu Olajoku is in charge of Port Authority. Salihu Garba becomes Commissioner of Police (Provost).

Others and their postings are: Mohammed Gana (SARS); Benjamin Onwuka (PSC, Jos); Markus Danladi (Admin ‘E’ Dept. Force Headquarters); Ahmed Ibrahim (Training, Force Headquarters); and Isaac Eke (Admin. ‘B’ Department, Force Headquarters.

Source: Nation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here