How APC Destroyed Nigeria For 16 Years – By Tonye Barcanista



I’m usually taken aback whenever officers of the present APC administration release statements and interviews to sermonise Nigerians on how PDP administration has destroyed Nigeria for 16years and how they are working on fixing the mess created by PDP.

It is non-contestable that between May 29, 1999 and May 29, 2015, “PDP”(in quote) occupied the seat of power in Abuja and control majority states in the federation. However, we have to get our fact right with respect to “who destroyed Nigeria between 99 and 2015”. I believe we should do a holistic analysis on this subject.


Nigeria had three presidents between May 29, 1999 and May 29, 2015. Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, Late Mallam Umaru Yar’adua and Dr Goodluck Jonathan. Of the three, Obasanjo spent eight years in office(1999-2007), Yar’adua three years (May 2007-May 2010) and Dr Jonathan five years (May 2010-May 2015). Obasanjo with highest number of time spent(Eight years) denounced PDP to become APC and Buhari’s navigator to office. Similarly, of the three vice presidents between the period, Atiku Abubakar spent the most number of years in office (Eight, 1999-2007). He not only moved to AC/APC while in office in 2006, he also aspired to rule Nigeria on APC platform in 2014 and is a member of APC’s Board of Trustees.


Between 1999 and 2015 Nigeria had six Speakers of Federal House of Representative. There are Salisu Buhari (June -July 1999), Ghali Na’aba(July 1999-June 2003), Aminu Bello Mansari (June 2003-June 2007), Madam Patricia Etteh (June 2007-November 2007), Dimeji Bankole (Nov 2007-June 2011) and Waziri Tambawal(June 2011-June 2015). Of all Six former Speakers, FOUR are members of APC (Na’aba, Mansari, Etteh and Tambawal) with a combined period of TWELVE YEARS in office out of the sixteen years. Mansari and Tambawal are APC Governors of Katsina and Sokoto states respectively.


Nasir Elrufai was DG Bureau for Public Enterprise and Secretary of National Council on Privatisation between 1999 and 2003. He later became minister of FCT between 2003 and 2007. As DG BPE and Secretary of NCP, he supervised the privatisation of NEPA, NITEL etc..ALL were emershed in controversy. By virtue of his office, Atiku Abubakar was the Chairman of NCP between 1999 and 2007. Both men supervised the privatisation of public companies for the period. They are APC members.

Danjuma Goje, was the minister of state for power between 1999 and 2003. Rabiu Kwankwaso was minister of Defence between 2003 and 2007. Both are members of APC BoT and Senators. Samuel Orthom served as minister of state, trade and investment between 2011 and 2015. Nasir Elrufai was minister of FCT between 2003 and 2007. They are now Governors of Benue and Kaduna states respectively. Should we wash all these away?


Between 1999 and 2015, Gombe has had three Governors, Abubakar Hashidu (4years), Danjuma Goje (8years) and Ibrahim Dankwambo(4years). Both Hashidu and Goje are members of APC. That is a combined 12years.

In Kwara state, all governors since 1999 are APC members save late Lawal who ruled under APP.

In Anambra state, ex-Govs Mbadiniju (4years), Nwabuweze Chris Ngige (3years), and Peter Obi(8years) were Governors. Mbadinuju and Ngige are APC members. That is a combined 7years between 1999-2014. PDP Obi held sway for 8 years.

Similarly, in Benue state George Akume was held sway from 1999-2007(and Senator 2007 till date). Is APC chieftain.

All Governors of Osun state between 1999 till date are APC members. Also in Ekiti state, of the 16 years, PDP’s Fayose only had four. Otunba Niyi Adebayo(4years), Segun Oni (3 years) and Fayemi (4years) are BoT members of APC.

In Abia state, Uzo Kalu that held sway between 1999 to 2007 is a Chief of APC. APC Govs has been in power in Lagos state all through the period.

In Zamfara state, APC Govs held sway for TWELVE out of the 16years. In Rivers state APC Chieftain Rotimi Amaechi was not only Governor for eight years(of the 16years), he also served as Speaker for the other part of 8years. Plateau state Governor Simon lalong was a Speaker during the Dariye administration. The list is endless.


We can see that between 1999 and May 2015 individuals occupied various political offices, the actions(and inactions) of these office-holders contributed to the decline of the Nigeria and her economy. Majority of these people were at one time or the other indicted for corrupt practices and fraud while in office. Most of these people are members of APC and some appointed into offices. ALL of them combined are responsible for the sorry state of things in Nigeria. We can’t forget so soon that it was Saraki and Amaechi(as NGF Chairpersons) that moved for the Sharing and depletion of the Excess Crude Account, which GEJ bowed to between 2007 and 2012. In fact, theyalso pushed for the sharing of One Billion Dollars in Soveriegn Wealth Fund but was resisted by Jonathan. Today, Saraki is not just APC Senator but also the Senate President, while Amaechi is a minister-designate. Can we forget so soon that Audu Ogbeh, a minister-designate and APC Senator Barnabas Germade were PDP National Chairmen between these period.

So stop that preaching about 16 years against 11 months…

75 total views, 1 views today

About the Author

2 Comments on this article. Feel free to join this conversation.

  1. Anne Oti Agbapuonwu April 14, 2016 at 5:57 pm -

    Don’t mind clueless APC . A bad workman they say quarrel with his tools. 80 percent of those in APC today are from PDP. Rotimi Amaechi was speaker of Rivers State House of Assembly for 8yrs and Governor for almost 7yrs and just under 2yrs in APC, he too is telling Nigerians to be patience as APC is working to repair the so called damages done by the PDP. Haaaa!!. Are we this gullible? APC in their desperation to grab power by all means dined,wined and even toured with notorious ex PDP and bedded strange fellows. It’s pay back time and the self acclaimed holy APC is counting the cost at the expense of Nigerian people. APC has the majority in the executive and the legislature yet it cannot agree on the way forward .who is to blame. Jonathan ,judiciary, independent oil marketers, ghost workers,tax evaders,National assembly,budget ,vandals. Soon they will say they are waiting for Chibok girls to return. Give me a break.

  2. Sam Kargbo April 13, 2016 at 12:00 pm -

    Who is this crank?