El-Rufai Heads Panel On Kogi APC Governorship Primaries



The All Progressive Congress (APC) has named Kaduna state governor, Mallam Nasir El-rufai as the head of a 7-man committee
that will conduct the primary election of the party in Kogi State to determine who will emerge as the sole flag bearer for the polls scheduled for November 29th 2015.

While Senator Madnus Abbe will serve as Secretary, other members include Alhaji Ibrahim Sarki, Mrs. Omorge Osifor, ‎Mr. Mohammad Wali, Mr. Lanre Asiwaju and Mr. Greg Egwu

Inaugurating the committee on Wednesday at the party national secretariat, the APC National Organising Secretary, Osita Izunaso charged the them to take the assignment seriously, adding that all state executives of the party in the state are delegates who will be participating in the primaries.

“You should hold a stakeholders meeting first and introduce yourselves as those who are called for this assignment, the party also requests that you should reach out to security agencies in Kogi State upon arrival, the SSS, the Police and other security agencies upon arrival so that they won’t say they were not informed, “he said.

According to him, the chairman of the committee will be the returning officer for the election primaries adding that once the exercise starts it must not be stopped half way.

“Once you start the accreditation, you cannot postpone, once you commence, you must complete and the winners will be announced on the spot, is not something you will go and compile and come back, it is not allowed.

“The aspirants with the highest number of votes shall be declared the winner.

“I want you to bear in mind, there is nothing like endorsement, maybe somebody will say he has been endorsed, there is nothing like that whatsoever, it is the people there that will choose” he said.

While inaugurating the committee, the APC Deputy Chairman North, Senator Lawan Shaibu said that the members of the committee were carefully chosen to do the job adding that they were credible.

46 total views, no views today

About the Author