We Have No Plans To Convert Chiefdoms To Emirates – El Rufai


We Have No Plans To Convert Chiefdoms To Emirates – El Rufai

We Have No Plans To Convert Chiefdoms To Emirates – El Rufai

Should Buhari Sack Inspector General Of Police?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

The Kaduna State Commissioner for Local Government, Kabir Mato, has said that there plans to transform chiefdoms in the southern part of the state to emirates.

Mr Mato stated this through a statement on Thursday while reacting to the speculations that have gone viral insinuating that the state government wants to rebrand the chiefdoms in Southern Kaduna to emirates.

According to him, those spreading such rumours are mischief makers who are enemies of peace.

“Such conflict entrepreneurs should be ignored and condemned by all lovers of harmony,” he said.

“Kauru Chiefdom is one of the three chiefdoms in Kauru Local Government.

“The local government is named after Kauru town, like Jema’a LGA is named after Jema’a Emirate and Kachia LGA after Kachia town.

“Similarly, Zangon Kataf LGA owes its name to Zangon Kataf town and Kagarko LGA to Kagarko town,” Mr Mato explained.

According to him, “The three graded traditional rulers/traditional councils in the said Kauru Local Government as at today are: Kauru Emirate, Tsam (Chawai) Chiefdom and Kumana Chiefdom.”

He also said: “Each of these chiefdoms is independent and the heads of these traditional institutions are addressed in line with their cultural affinities, long standing historical antecedents and other peculiarities within their chiefdoms.”

Mr Mato disclosed that the head of Kauru traditional council requested a change in its nomenclature, opting for the title of emir.

“The request was granted and the new Kauru Emirate is one and the same with the former Kauru chiefdom, with its domain restricted to Kauru town,” the commissioner added.

Mr Mato said the other two other traditional councils of Tsam (Chawai) Chiefdom and Kumana Chiefdom are also independent monarchs running the affairs of their traditional councils in line with their own cultural and historical antecedents.

He maintained that the situation is similar to Jema’a Local Government which has five graded traditional institutions namely Jema’a Emirate, Gwong (Kagoma) Chiefdom, Nikyop (Kaninkon) Chiefdom, Godogodo Chiefdom and Fantswam Chiefdom.

He stressed that: “The point to note here is, only the head of Jema’a emirate is addressed as emir, while the other royal fathers answer titles derived from their cultural affinities.”

He said: “The ministry of local government is implementing government policy to reposition the traditional institutions in the state. The government believes that this action would enhance the glory and prestige of these institutions, and contribute to engendering harmonious co-existence as well as promote sense of belonging in all our communities.”

39 total views, 1 views today

About the Author