Published On: Mon, Apr 13th, 2015

INEC Declares APGA Winner in 26 State Assembly Seats, Fixes April 18, For Inconclusive Polls


Now Available On:

247ureports Android Mobile Application 247ureports Apple Mobile Application

By Uche Osibe
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) winner in the 26 State House of Assembly seats in which the elections were concluded on Saturday, April 11, this year.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Edwin Nwatalari who disclosed this in a press briefing on Sunday, a day after the exercis
He gave the names of the winners of the House of Assembly election as: Ikem Uzoezie (Aguata 2), Uche Okafor (Ayamelum), Obinna Emeneka (Anambra East), Bonny Okonkwo  (Awka North), Nnamdi Okafor (Awka South 1), Harford Oseke (Awka  South II),  Lawrence Chukwunwike  Ezeudu (Dunukofia),  Francis   Nmegbuaneze (Idemili South),   Chu Ezenwune (Idemili North),   Udemadu Chidi Livinus (Ihiala 1),  Paschal Agbodike (Ihiala 2),Tim Ifediora (Njikoka 1), Peter Ibida (Njikoka 2), Chugbo Enwezor (Onitsha North 1), Ibuzo Edward Obi (Onitsha North 2),  Patrick Aniunoh (Onitsha South 1) and  Beverley Nkemdiche  (Onitsha     South 2).
Others are  Amala Anazodo (Nnewi North),Rita Maduagwuna (Nnewi South 2),  Udeze Nkem Somtochukwu (Ogbaru 2), Benson Nwawulu (Ogbalu 1), Romanus Ugochikwu  Obi (Orumba North), Nwabunwanne (Anambra West),  Nikky Ugochukwu (Orumba South).  Vivian Akpamgbo-Okadigbo and  Victor  Jideofo Okoye (Anambra West)
He pointed out that the elections were  declared inconclusive in the remaining 4 state constituencies covering three local government areas  of the State.
Nwatalari named the constituencies where the elections would be held coming Saturday  as  Uga Ward 1 in Aguata 1 State Constituency,  Adazi-ani Ward, Adazi-Nnukwu Ward 1, Agulu Wards  1 – 4 in Anaocha 1 Constituency and Nri Ward 1 and 2 in Anaocha 2 State Constituency and Ekwusigo State Constituency.
Giving insight into circumstances that led to the cancellationd, the REC disclosed that it was discovered  that the number of voters exceeded the number of registered voters with Permanent Voter Cards at  Uga ward 1 in Aguata 1 constituency.
Nwatalari stated that the elections in  Anaocha Constituencies 1 and 2,were canceled on account of deliberate  attempt  by some persons not to use the card readers  despite certifications by technical personnel dispatched from INEC confirming the devices were in order and working.
“So, we are rejecting the results from these constituencies. Our card reader was working and yet over 80 per cent of accreditation was done manually,”

According to him, the election in Ekwusigo  Constituency was cancelled after  hoodlums  carted away result sheets and ballot papers meant for use in the election, which he said constituted 75 percent of the total electoral materials required for the Saturday exercise.
The State REC pointed out that the remaining elections in the local government areas were rescheduled to April  18, including Ekwusigo State Constituency earlier postponed to hold on April 25, following a recommendation from the INEC headquarters.
He stated that the Card Reader which was tested and found functional but failed when the State governor, Chief Willie Obiano wanted to cast his vote was restored and used throughout the State Assembly election.
The detailed results and how APGA swept the State House of Assembly seats are shown below:
APGA wins Orumba North State Constituency:
APGA – 15457
PDP – 6154
APC – 1148
ADC- 1425

APGA Wins Orumba South State Constituency:
APGA – 10578
PDP – 3296
LP – 2848

APGA wins Nnewi South I Constituency in Anambra:
APGA – 6845
PDP – 4116
APC – 184

APGA wins Nnewi South II Constituency in Anambra State:
APGA – 7294
PDP – 4278
APC – 1397

APGA wins Aguata II Constituency in Anambra State:
APGA – 13163
PDP- 1297
APC – 3203

APGA wins Dunukofia State Constituency in Anambra:
APGA – 9957
PDP – 5400
APC – 527

APGA wins Oyi State Constituency in Anambra:
APGA – 20500
PDP – 10300
APC – 714

APGA wins Awka North State Constituency in Anambra:
APGA – 10931
PDP – 5573
APC – 471

APGA wins Ayamelum State Constituency in Anambra:
APGA – 26731
PDP – 5788
APC – 2258

APGA wins Ihiala I Constituency in Anambra State:
APGA – 14078
PDP – 3066
APC – 95
LP – 4485

APGA wins Ihiala II Constituency in Anambra State:
APGA – 17877
PDP – 3358
APC – 109

APGA wins Onitsha South I Constituency in Anambra State:
APGA – 7463
PDP – 2550
APC – 1693
Accord – 1249

APGA wins Awka South I Constituency in Anambra State:
APGA – 10341
PDP – 2831
APC – 2427

APGA wins Onitsha North I Constituency in Anambra State:
APGA – 9390
PDP – 825
APC – 1833
Accord – 2884
UPP – 1119

APGA wins Njikoka I Constituency in Anambra State:
APGA – 8157
PDP – 1838
APC – 1851

APGA wins Njikoka II Constituency in Anambra State:
APGA – 9110
PDP – 5081
APC – 1078

APGA wins Idemili South State Constituency in Anambra:
APGA – 10669
PDP – 2978
APC – 4563

APGA wins Awka South II Constituency in Anambra State:
APGA – 12491
PDP – 1617
APC – 1485

APGA wins Onitsha South II Constituency in Anambra State:
APGA – 5566
PDP – 1288
APC – 1907

APGA wins Idemili North State Constituency in Anambra:
APGA – 24704
PDP – 7516
APC – 6511

APGA wins Anambra East State Constituency:
APGA – 35992
PDP – 5285

About the Author


Was Ekiti Guber Rigged?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...